What are Key Stages 1 and 2 (KS1 & KS2)?

Updated: Aug 14, 2020

Key Stage 1 is primary school aged children in years 1 & 2, who are aged between 5 and 7 years old. Key Stage 2 is primary school aged children in school years 3 - 6 who are aged 7 - 11 years old.

Key Stages form part of the national curriculum - a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools to make sure children learn the same things to an acceptable standard.

Private schools and academies don't have to follow the national curriculum, they have more flexibility to teach subjects and topics of their choice. - so a private tutor can be very useful if a child is moving between schools, school systems or geographical areas.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All